Reviews

The Sky Is Everywhere – Jandy Nelson

tumblr_n22nldAnOH1r97v8do9_500
Source: Tumblr

Goodreads rating: 3/5⭐️

Hello, we meet again. Writing a short, simple and non technical book review this time because I have exams going on which I clearly do not care about. (JK I do, I need to pass) (!!)

When I started reading The Sky Is Everywhere, I really didn’t think it was going to be a 3 star read for me.  The book is rich in writing. Jandy Nelson has used simple form and words but arranged them in a manner which makes all the emotions stand out. However, as the book courses, everything mixes up and goes too fast. To sum it up and keep it as spoiler-free as I can, we have:

 Things I Liked

  1. The protagonist Lennie’s poems in the first few chapters. (They kept me going on.)
  2. Dead sister’s boyfriend, Toby. (Did I just do that?)
  3. The coolest guys aren’t afraid to be feminists, Lennie.
  4. This poem:

At 4.48PM on a Friday in April
My sister was rehearsing the role of Juliet and less than one minute later
she was dead.
To my astonishment, time didn’t stop
with her heart.

People went to school, to work, to restaurants;
they crushed crackers into their clam chowder,
fretted over their exams,
sang in their cars with the windows up.
For days and days, the rain beat its fists
on the roof of our house—
evidence of the terrible mistake
God had made.

Each morning, when I woke
I listened for the tireless pounding
looked at the drear through the window
and was relieved
that at least the sun had the decency
to stay the hell away from us.

   5. The sky is everywhere. It begins at your feet. 

So, that’s it. That’s the stuff I enjoyed throughout the book. It’s mostly just a bunch of quotes.

Things I Disliked: 

  1. Lack of character depth. I couldn’t much relate to the characters.
  2. Unrealistic and way too sudden romance. (Also, I was Team Toby the whole time so sigh to that.)
  3. The ending was cliché and not as powerful as the beginning which is a total bummer.

Contrary to the fact that the book was a little overdone, it was still a page turner. And that’s why I added the third star to my rating. As for now, I will be reading I’ll Give You The Sun next by the same author which has better reviews as far as I’ve gathered.

Have a nice weekend, y’all! Thanks for reading up.

Leave a Reply

