Lifestyle

Happy Ammi’s Day

To my mother who works on me every day. 


It’s that time of the year when we realize nothing will ever be enough to make up for the efforts of that beautiful soul who nourishes us in every way there is.

Last year around this time, I was really broke (well broker than I am right now) so I thought I should skip getting my mom a present because duh, she’s my mom and she probably already knows how much I love her, right? However, my sister helped me out, and we got mom a suit from Khaadi and sent it over to her nicely packed in a floral wrap. I felt as if I’d done something really admirable. It was only after she received it that I realized, I really hadn’t; that mothers do these kinds of things every day, and they don’t need a special day for it.
Mom didn’t receive her present on that very day (bummer) but when she did, she called us right away and started going on about how much she loved it and how we didn’t have to do it. (It was insanely cute because she just couldn’t stop!) I was smiling to myself throughout, but it also made me realize a little something. That being, every time my mom got me something, I was never as thankful. I never appreciated anything as much. I see it now, what an incredibly stupid behavior that was.

Love, no matter what kind, always needs to be expressed and appreciated. It’s foolish to expect it to be felt and understood on its own.

A mother’s love is the purest form of love there ever will be which does not fade despite our careless behavior. Celebrate to this alone, and show your mom some love this Mother’s Day, quite literally. Happy Mother’s Day to all the beautiful mothers out there!

Leave a Reply

